UN-ECOSOC Cons. Status

WIC and ECOSOC Consultative Status

The first venue by which non-governmental organizations took a role in formal UN deliberations was through the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). In 1945, 41 NGOs were granted consultative status by the council; by 1992 more than 700 NGOs had attained consultative status and the number has been steadily increasing ever since with 4,507 organizations in active consultative status with ECOSOC as of 22 August, 2016. World Igbo Congress is one of them.

Article 71 of the UN Charter opened the door by providing suitable arrangements for consultations with non-governmental organizations. The consultative relationship with ECOSOC is governed by ECOSOC resolution 1996/31, which outlines the eligibility requirements for consultative status, rights and obligations of NGOs in consultative status, procedures for withdrawal or suspension of consultative status, the role and functions of the ECOSOC Committee on NGOs, and the responsibilities of the United Nations Secretariat in supporting the consultative relationship.

Consultative status is granted by ECOSOC upon recommendation of the Committee on NGOs, which is composed by 19 Member States.

Who is Eligible?

Consultative relationships may be established with international, regional, sub-regional, national non-governmental organizations, non-profit organizations, public sector or voluntary organizations. NGOs affiliated to an international organization already in status may be admitted provided that they can demonstrate that their program of work has direct relevance to the aims and purposes of the United Nations.

To be eligible for consultative status, an NGO must have been in existence (officially recognized by a government) for at least two years, must have an established headquarters, a democratically-adopted constitution, authority to speak for its members, a representative structure, appropriate mechanisms of accountability and democratic and transparent decision-making processes. The basic resources of the organization must be derived mainly from contributions of the national affiliates or other components or from individual members. World Igbo Congress met the requirements for admission and was designated as such in July 2012

Organizations established by governments or intergovernmental agreements are not considered NGOs.

General, Special and Roster status

There are three categories of status: General consultative status, Special consultative status and Roster status.

General consultative status is reserved for large international NGOs whose area of work cover most of the issues on the agenda of ECOSOC and its subsidiary bodies. These tend to be fairly large, established international NGOs with a broad geographical reach.

Special consultative status is granted to NGOs which have a special competence in, and are concerned specifically with, only a few of the fields of activity covered by the ECOSOC. These NGOs tend to be smaller and more recently established. World Igbo Congress was admitted in the SPECIAL CONSULTATIVE CATEGORY

Organizations that apply for consultative status but do not fit in any of the other categories are usually included in the Roster. These NGOs tend to have a rather narrow and/or technical focus. NGOs that have formal status with other UN bodies or specialized agencies (FAO, ILO, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, WHO and others), can be included on the ECOSOC Roster. The roster lists NGOs that ECOSOC or the UN Secretary-General considers can make “occasional and useful contributions to the work of the Council or its subsidiary bodies.”

Participation in International Conferences

Non-governmental organizations in general, special or roster consultative status that express their wish to attend conferences convened by the United Nations shall be accredited for participation. Other non-governmental organizations wishing to be accredited may apply to the Secretariat of the conference for this purpose.

Click to read the first Quadrennial Report submitted by WIC depicting its activities in the first 4 years